THE SCREENING

The screening was a great end to a helluva day. We’d been worried about rain the whole time but it was a prefect night. Maybe a little cold, but we had a great crowd. They have the whole piazza lit up, and project images against the buildings as you can see. Very nice.

 

Here’s the approach to the stage in front of the giant screen. They called us all up, introduced, asked us if we wanted to say anything. I managed to snap a shot of the screen projecting the introductions, though inadvertently cut myself out. (The wages of trying to clandestinely shoot pics from a stage so you don’t seem too massively uncool).

 

AND THE MOVIE BEGAN… 

AND IT ENDED. 

FIRST OFF, ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL PROJECTION AND MASSIVE SOUND. MADE ME THINK THAT THERE COULD BE A NEW FUTURE IN DRIVE-IN MOVIES. KUDOS TO LOCARNO FOR DOING IT RIGHT. THE SCREENING ITSELF WENT GREAT – CLAPPING AND LAUGHING AT ALL THE RIGHT PLACES. RON PERLMAN’S PARTICULAR FATE GOT A BIG RESPONSE. ALL IN ALL, A HUGE SUCCESS.

HOWARD AND I STAYED BEHIND TO MEET SOME OF THE CROWD. EVEN SIGNED A FEW AUTOGRAPHS. (!!!)  THEN, TOOK A MOMENT TO ENJOY IT ALL. DURING THIS, THE CAMERAMAN FOUND US AND PROJECTED US ONTO THE HUGE SCREEN. (THANK GOD WE WEREN’T SCRATCHING OURSELVES)  THE REMAINING AUDIENCE GAVE US A NICE CHEER AND WE GAVE IN TO THE INNER GEEK AND TOOK PICS OF OURSELVES ON THE GIANT SCREEN.

AND YES, THIS IS WHAT IT ALL SEEMS LIKE, NOW…

9 Responses to “THE SCREENING”

  1. Sounds awesome! I really wish I could have been there. Maria over at sophiamyles.org has a nice writeup on her site about the premiere (luchy girl got to be there… I’m jealous!) and had nice things to say about you guys.

    I posted about a few reviews over at my site. The hollywood reporter one is very positive, but the variety guy wasn’t quite so kind. I have to scratch my head sometimes when there seems to be such a disconnect between reviewers and actual audiences.

    I really like how the Hollywood Reporter guy squeezed into his review “The film had its world premiere at the Locarno International Film Festival and, handled suitably by the Weinstein Company in the U.S. and Wild Bunch internationally, it should do crowd-pleasing business all around.”

    Awesome!

  2. I almost forgot, I really was with you guys in spirit, hehe. I found out that Locarno has webcams in the Piazza Grande… There’s no sound but they refress every second, and the premiere happened to be exactly when I was home for lunch… I caught most of the first 40 minutes at a frame a second… hahaha. It was still great to see though, but the lighting was poor. so the brighness of the screen would often drown out the image. I actually kind of wish I could see the audience reactions more.

  3. Heh, I should try and remember this stuff so I get it all in one post:

    http://www2.rtsi.ch/pardo/welcome.cfm?scheda=3586

    That *should* have an interview with Howard dubbed in Italian from a TV station TSI1. (on the left hand side in realplayer format. You should be able to full-screen it though)

  4. Well, sorry about posting again but I realized that it might play some other festival vid by default. You eith need to click the second video link in the main part (the first should be the interogation clip) or if you have real player installed this clip should open the video directly:

    rtsp://62.2.180.144:554/tsi/reg/2008/reg_08152008-450k.rm?start=25:47.6&end=30:25.6&cloakport=80,554

  5. aw….I’m so jealous!
    Seeing it outdoors would rock. Since the film is a period film, and most of it (I assume) takes place outdoors!

    Thanks for keeping us posted.

    Lucy

  6. Congratulations! Can’t wait to see this in my corner of the world.

  7. I’m curious about that ‘movie-con weekend’ thing in London that you and Jack apparently went to on sunday? Was it just a presentation about the movie? Did you guys get to show some clips to the audience? Sounds like the film has a solid date in the UK now too (feb 20th/’09)… I’m fairly certain the whole movie wasn’t shown so I’m just curious…

    (same with the odd pairing of it and ‘Lesbian Vampire Killers’ … I guess it was just a time slot for ‘Momentum’ in general!)

  8. Also, this amazon listing that popped up online for the DVD… coming Nov18th…. that can’t be true can it?… Will there at least be a limited theatrical run? I hope so. I don’t get how there can be such a large disconnect from audience reactions and the minds of whatever executives are making these decisions.

  9. outlanderthemovie Says:

    Don’t know the accuracy of the Amazon listing. Will check around. TWC is contractually obligated for at least a limited release. Execs are execs. They live and work in an entirely different universe than the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

